Las Vegas - Airport, United States of America
In terminal counter, shuttle to car
7135 Gilespie Street, 7135 Gilespie street, Las Vegas, 89109, NV, Nevada
|Sun||06:00 - 00:00|
|Mon||06:00 - 00:00|
|Tue||06:00 - 00:00|
|Wed||06:00 - 00:00|
|Thu||06:00 - 00:00|
|Fri||06:00 - 00:00|
|Sat||06:00 - 00:00|
E-TOLL COLLECTION DEVICE AVAILABILITY TOLL PAYMENT TAG PASS You are responsible for payment of all tolls incurred during the rental period. We offer an optional service called e-toll that allows customers to use electronic toll lanes on highways, bridges, tunnels and other tolled passages. All vehicles are pre-equipped to electronically process tolls. If you do not pay cash for tolls, you automatically opt into our e-toll service to which you agree to pay us or our toll program administrator with whom we will share your credit card/debit information for all tolls incurred during your rental and all related fees, charges and penalties. The e-toll fees may take 4-8 weeks after the rental to be billed to your credit card/debit card on file. E-TOLL SERVICE CONVENIENCE FEES The convenience fee for e-Toll usage is $3.95 up to $5.95 USD for each day you use the E-Toll device and there is a maximum of $19.75 up to $29.75 USD per rental month, plus toll charges. There are NO service charges if e-Toll is NOT USED during the rental duration. E-TOLL UNLIMITED Available at participating locations in the following states: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Main, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont, Washington and West Virginia. If you use the unlimited E-Toll service, all cost of tolls and convenience Fees are included. For this service, you pay a flat fee of $10.99 up to $23.99 USD per each day of the rental period, regardless of whether or not you incur any tolls, or a flat fee of $54.95 up to $119.95 USD per week. E-toll unlimited must be purchased at the beginning of the rental. OPTING OUT OF E-TOLL If you do not choose e-toll unlimited at the time of rental, you may avoid the standard e-toll fees on any given day during the term of the rental if you ensure the transponder shield box is in the "closed" position and you pay cash for all tolls, use your own adequately funded, properly mounted and compatible electronic toll device to pay for all tolls, or pay the toll authority directly and follow the toll authority rules and requirements. For more information on tolling, please visit www.paylesscar.com/en/products-and-services/services/e-toll or contact E-Toll at 1-866-642-2000 or check at the time of rental.
***Through June 30, 2020, the underage surcharge is waived in participating locations in all states EXCEPT Maryland, Michigan and New York. The minimum age requirements remain the same. The underage surcharge will apply for rentals beginning on or after July 01, 2020.*** Renters must be 25 years of age with a valid drivers license and a major credit card in his/her own name. Renters 21 through 25 years of age with a major credit card in his/her name may rent an Economy, Compact, Intermediate, Standard or Full-size car or a Minivan with an additional $25.00 per day surcharge.
Geographical Restrictions / Travel Limitations
Location must be notified at time of rental when driving out of the originating state. Failure to notify location may result in additional penalties. One-Way: All car groups may be rented one-way based on availability. Unauthorized one-way rentals will be subject to a surcharge.
Credit Card Policies
The credit card must have the same name as the renter's driver's license. The following are accepted forms of payment: - Visa - MasterCard - American Express - Discover - Carte Blanche - Diners Club Intl CREDIT CARD HOLD: We will request an authorization on your charge card for the estimated rental charges. Rentals of 1-3 days will require an authorization hold of the estimated rental charges plus $150 USD. If you have prepaid the rental, the hold amount will be $250.00. While this hold is in place, the funds will not be available for your use. When the rental is over, we will process the reversal, but the bank may take time to post it back to the account. Payless accepts prepaid cards for payment at car return only.
Local Renter Restrictions
Local renters require a verification process which may include verifying personal information such as home phone number, address and/or employment. Supporting information can be a current utility bill, recent bank statement and /or pay stub.
Driver's License Requirements
At time of pick up, the driver must present a valid, U.S.-issued driver's license and credit card (or debit card at participating locations) in the driver's name. If the driver's license is not U.S.-issued, the driver must present his/her driver's license and passport from the same country as the driver's license or Canadian residents may present a Canadian enhanced license in the driver's name.
All additional drivers must be at least 25 years of age. The following are exempt from the additional driver fee but must meet all other driver requirements: the renter's employer or fellow employee when on company business and renting under a corporate account; the renter's spouse or domestic partner; the companion driver of a renter with a disability who has completed the non-licensed renter form; for insurance replacement rentals, company employees or family members who are designated on the insurance policy. All other additional drivers must complete and sign an additional driver form and present valid credit identification. A maximum of two additional drivers may complete a form. For all US states other than CA, NV and NY, the additional driver fee is $13 per day per driver with a maximum of $65 per driver. The fee in New York is $3 per day per driver. The fee in Nevada is $11 per day per driver with a maximum of $55 per driver. There is no additional driver fee in California.
OPTION #1: PREPAY FUEL OPTION (BUY A TANK) Vehicle is rented with a full tank. You may purchase a full tank of fuel at the time of rental and bring the vehicle back with fuel at any level. There will be no credit issued for unused fuel. OPTION #2: FUEL SERVICE OPTION (WE FILL THE TANK) Vehicle is rented with a full tank. You may bring the vehicle back full to avoid a charge or Payless will refuel your vehicle based on the miles driven or level of the tank. A refueling service fee will apply per gallon. What type of fuel do I use in my vehicle? Click Here
Debit Card Policies
Debit cards (except Chime Debit Cards) are accepted for renters 25 and older when renting an Economy, Compact, Intermediate, Standard, Full size, Premium, SUV or Minivan only. At airport locations proof of return airline flight will be required. Payless will request an authorization hold against your account at the time of rental. Rentals of 1-3 days will require an authorization hold of the estimated rental charges plus $150 USD. Rentals of 4 days or more will require an authorization hold of the estimated rental charges plus $300 USD. We release the hold on the funds when the vehicle is returned, however, these funds may no longer be available for your immediate use and may take up to 14 days, depending on your bank, to become available. We will not be responsible for any returned check or insufficient fund charges or bank fees related to this process. Use of a debit card to rent a vehicle may be subject to a review of your credit history. The inquiry will be posted on your credit report and may have an effect on your credit score. If your credit file is frozen with Equifax, you will be required to lift the restriction prior to your rental. Lifting the restriction does not guarantee that you will be able to rent a vehicle as you will still be subject to a credit check. If the debit card fails to meet our debit card criteria, you may either be unable to rent a vehicle or required to present a major credit card in your name to qualify for a rental at this location. Note: Chime Debit Cards and Prepaid Debit/Gift cards are not acceptable methods of credit identification to pick up a car at any location. One of the above mentioned cards must be presented. Chime Debit Cards and Prepaid Debit/Gift cards are accepted at time of return only.